Show All Answers
The 2024 Bayfield County Fair will be held Thursday, Aug. 8th through Sunday, August 11th.
Yes! There are two categories, one of which is specifically for Youth.
Junior Division: Any youth, grades K-2 (Cloverbuds) and grades 3-13, belonging to a recognized Bayfield County youth organization, with adult supervision, may enter in the Junior Division and have their items judged along with 4H and other youth organization members. Some of the other youth organizations include: FFA, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, and the Bay Area Christian Home Schoolers.
Open Division: All Wisconsin residents (adults and youth age 5 or older) may enter in the Open Division.
PLEASE do not leave your pets in your vehicle in the parking lot while you are enjoying the Fair.
Please report changes of address, telephone number and employment to Bayfield County Child Support agency. You can call, email or stop in.
You have two options for child support payments, direct deposit into a bank account or debit card. If you want direct deposit, you must complete a direct deposit application. If you do nothing or would like a debit card, you will automatically be sent a debit card after the first payment is received.
Genetic testing is offered in cases where there is no father listed on the birth certificate. Contact our agency to schedule genetic testing. You will be required to sign a statement requesting the testing and may be required to pay the fee in advance. If you live outside of the area, we can arrange to have specimens drawn at a more convenient location. Generally the cost is less than $75.
Wisconsin court forms are available online.
All payers of child support are required to notify the child support agency of any change of employment within 48 hours. Please contact our agency as soon as possible to discuss your situation.
Child support agencies can not mediate problems with visitation. You should contact the Family Court Commissioner at 715-373-5909. You can also contact the Wisconsin Lawyer Referral Service.
Payers have the entire month to make payments. Please allow at least two weeks before calling the child support agency to report a missing payment. There are several factors that affect the timing of child support, mail, holidays, payroll changes, etc.
Please contact the child support agency to request a review of your child support order. You will be required to submit your request in writing and will need to provide proof of your income.
Administrative liens are liens placed on a payer by operation of law - that is, without obtaining a court order. Unpaid child support is automatically considered a lien against a payer's property. It affects all titled property (real and personal) the payer holds such as land, motor vehicles, accounts at financial institutions, recreational vehicles. You can view the Wisconsin Lien Docket for further information.
There are two ways to apply. Go to the Employment page of the web site and fill out an application under Citizen Committee Member or a list of county committees is available under the Government-Boards/Committees list on the web page. There is a direct link to a fillable form at the top of the list of county committees.
Bayfield County prefers an on-line application for current position vacancies. Vacancies can be found by clicking on the link to Employment at the bottom of the main page of the web site.
The County Budget has its own page located under the County Administrator Department that is updated every year.
The Departments webpage lists all of the departments within Bayfield County along with a brief description of their services.
The Bayfield County Board of Supervisors consists of 13 board members, all of which are available via phone or email. This information is easily accessible by accessing the Board of Supervisors webpage.
Agendas for Bayfield County boards and committees are located in the Agenda Center. Minutes for previous meetings are located here as well.
Food Safety inspections are available online for Bayfield County on HealthSpace.
Bayfield County Health staff take weekly water samples from 15 Lake Superior Beaches throughout the summer from Memorial Day through Labor Day. The Wisconsin DNR publishes the map for beach advisories and closures. For information on beach testing, advisories and closures of public beaches visit the WI DNR Beach Closure and Advisory page.
There are a couple of ways to submit reimbursement requests.
Diversified Benefits Services
Phone: 262-367-3300 or 800-234-1229
PO Box 260, Hartland, WI 53029
The best way to check the balance in your HRA, FSA, or Roll-over account is to access your account on-line.
HRA expenses incurred between January 1 and December 31 of a given year must be submitted for HRA reimbursement by March 31 of the following year.
FSA expenses may be incurred January 1 of a given year through March 15 of the following year, but must be submitted for reimbursement by March 31.
Employees may change their tax withholdings as frequently as necessary. Forms can be obtained from the County Administrator’s Office.
2. Submit a written retirement notice to your Department Head and/or Human Resources. As much advance notice as possible is appreciated to ensure continuity of service to our citizens.
3. Once the Human Resources office receives your retirement notification, you will be sent access to several forms. The sooner these forms are completed, the sooner payroll can make the necessary payroll adjustments related to premiums. Forms will vary depending upon which insurances you have enrolled in. Contact the County Clerk’s Office or Human Resources Office for details on when each insurance is effective through.
4. Schedule an exit interview with the Human Resources Office.
5. If you have participated in the HRA for at least 5 years, you are vested and can access the funds in your roll-over account after retirement. These funds may be used for eligible health insurance premiums and eligible medical, dental or vision expenses.
6. Any vacation earned, but not used, plus pro-rated vacation for the partial year will be paid out.
7. Employees may continue to participate in the Teamster Health Plan or the State of Wisconsin health insurance plan upon retirement if they were enrolled in the plan prior to retirement. Premiums for health insurance are paid 100% by the employee upon retirement.
8. Employees must have 10 work days in a month to be eligible for the county's contribution to health insurance premiums. An employee should consider this when selecting a retirement date.
9. Employees are unable to schedule vacation or comp time during the last 2 weeks of employment. The intent is to allow the retiring employee the opportunity to train incoming staff.
Employees may fill out a Carryover Vacation Approval Form if they do not intend on utilizing all of their allotted vacation time for the year and would like to carry over some vacation time to the next year.
Carryover vacation requests are subject to approval by the employee's Department Head or Designee. Full-time employees working a 1950 hour work year may carry over a maximum of 37.5 hours of vacation. Full-time employees working a 2080 hours work year may carry over a maximum of 40 hour of vacation. Part-time employees carry-over is prorated.
Carry-over vacation must be used within 6 months of the employee's carry-over date.
For employees participating in the State of Wisconsin Health Insurance program, you may call the toll-free Customer Service number on the back of your insurance card to inquire, or search the Health Insurance Provider website. For employees participating in the Teamster Health Plan, you may contact UMR at 800-535-6373 or search the UMR website provider directory.
Complete a new Direct Deposit Form and provide a document from your bank with the account and routing number to the payroll office. Email requests will not be accepted.
Complete a new Employee Data Sheet and submit it to the County Administrator's Office.
Application for the FoodShare and/or Medicaid programs may be done online at the WI ACCESS webpage, over the phone to the Northern Income Maintenance Consortium at 1-888-794-5722, in person via paper application at the Department of Human Services located at 117 E 5th St, Washburn, WI 54891, or by calling the local office to request a paper application be mailed to you at 715-373-6144. It is important that you start your application as soon as possible to establish a benefit start date. Follow this link for more program information: Economic Support Programs and Services.
Elderly Nutrition Information page
Recorded Acres: The acres recorded on a deed or Certified Survey Map (CSM). It may also have been carried over from many years ago by assessors or tax lister information when exact acreage was not important.
Calculated Acres: The acres calculated from our digital parcel mapping. Parcel boundaries are not based on good control or Public Land Survey System (PLSS) such as Survey Grade GPS so there are inherent errors built from the beginning. Additional errors are created when fitting the parcels together. For example, in the Geographic Information System the acreage is calculated from the water’s edge not the meander line. In the future, mapping on an accurate control grid will reduce the differences.
Map of Survey, Plat of Survey, or Unrecorded Map: These are not filed in the Register of Deeds office and are not reviewed by the County. At times these are only concept plans. These maps and any other maps are required by law to be filed in the County Surveyor’s office. When we become aware of surveys that have not been submitted to our office, we try to acquire them. In the past the County has not had a Land Records office or County Surveyor so many of those older maps have not been submitted. The map accuracy of an unrecorded map in today’s standards should be the same as a CSM.
Certified Survey Map (CSM): These are maps that are reviewed at the County and recorded in the Register of Deeds office. When the County reviews a map we find an error 90% of the time, then send it back to the surveyor for corrections. Once recorded, the information is then forwarded to the Tax Lister to update the recorded acres in the land records system (NOVUS).
Bayfield County built the parcel mapping from a grid and scale that can vary up to 200 feet from the true location. The parcel mapping is meant to get you close to the property; this is also known as “index” mapping. To know the exact location of the parcel lines, a survey is needed.
Bayfield County contracts with private survey firms and collects survey grade GPS locations on the section corners and quarter corners that can make the parcel lines more accurate when displayed on the aerial photo. This will take around 90 years to complete the project county-wide with current funding levels. But the main goal is to GPS and gain a tighter control on populated areas first.
The legal description may be poorly written and may not account for different sizes in sections. Various sources of information are used as reference (e.g., recorded documents and surveys).
Every effort is taken to utilize proper techniques and reference viable data sources when drawing map features. It should be noted that some data sources are more accurate than others, and this may explain why certain map features appear to be drawn incorrectly. Users of Bayfield County Interactive Mapping should take notice that the digital map serves as a general representation of what exists in the real world and should be used accordingly.
Bayfield County staff do not assist people in writing new legal descriptions for property splits and merges. The Property Lister only reads, maps, and lists abbreviated descriptions for listing purposes with limited space. What you see listed in our Novus tax database is not your full legal description. Always refer to your deed for the full legal description. We recommend talking with a land surveyor and/or attorney (title company in case of a land sale) to get a new legal description and have the proper recording done.
Check with the assessor for your municipality; see this listing of municipal assessors.
If your land has been previously surveyed by a registered land surveyor, a copy of the map should be filed in the County Surveyor’s or Land Records office and can be provided to you for printing cost (25 cents per page). You would then need to locate the monuments that were set at the property corners. If you cannot find the monuments yourself, or if your property has never been surveyed, you need to hire a registered land surveyor. To find one, view the list of registered land surveyors who frequently work in Bayfield County and are familiar with the rules and regulations of Bayfield County and the State of Wisconsin.
Bayfield County GIS data can be downloaded from the data sharing site. Instructions for requesting access can be found on the GIS and Parcel Data webpage.
Coordinate conversion can also be done online.
Updating mailing and/or billing addresses can be done using the online form listed below:
Use the address application link below to apply for a new address online:
Use the replacement sign application below to replace an existing address sign:
Call Land Records at 715-373-6156 if you have any questions.
Visit our Plat Book Information webpage.
Land Records does not map easements in GIS. Easements are only viewable in our GIS Web Map if included in a survey record, such as a map of survey or CSM. Researching recorded documents in the Register of Deeds office is where the search can be conducted; a title search can assist with this process.
This 2021 WI state statute provides information and clarification on the repair and maintenance of private roads: https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2021/related/acts/99
Submit an address change request using the Tax Address Change Form. You can also call the Land Records office at 715-373-6156.
Whenever parcel boundaries change in any way, the new parcels won't receive their tax bills until the following year. This is because they get sent to the assessor to add on new codes and values. If you worked with a title company, this most likely was pro-rated into closing costs. Otherwise buyer and seller can work together to pro-rate as needed.
If the transfer occurred just before we printed the tax bills (end of November-December), ownership was not updated yet. You can give the tax bill to the new owner to pay, or work with the title company on any pro-rating questions. Tax bills are always accessible online via Novus; enter your tax ID and navigate to the "Tax Bill" tab.
We have both “recorded acres” (from a recorded document) and “calculated acres” (from our GIS) in Novus, and unfortunately only the recorded acres show up on the tax bill - that means if there are no recorded acres for a parcel (only GIS acres), then it shows up as zero on the tax bill. Please see your property listing in Novus to view your acres.
We'll have to look at your specific parcel for your MFL contract, but it may be that your contact was newly updated with different rates. Note effective in 2023, there are new rates from the DNR.
What people generally refer to as a building permit is called a Land Use Permit in Bayfield County. All structures in Shoreland/Floodplain areas shall require a land use permit.
A land use permit shall be required for any new residence, any building erected, relocated or structurally altered, any change in the use of the land; or where any use of the land is altered.
A land use permit shall be obtained prior to the initiation of construction or a change in land use. ** If adding an attached or detached Deck(s) a land use permit is required. ** No permit shall be issued if the applicant is in violation of the Bayfield County Zoning Ordinance, Flood Plain Ordinance, Shoreland-Wetlands Zoning Ordinance, or Subdivision Control Ordinance. Setback Compliance: Non-Habitable Structure Compliance
All structures shall meet prescribed setback standards (including eaves and overhangs) for the zoning district in which they are located. All structures in shoreland or floodplain areas shall require a land use permit.
A non-shoreland residential land use permit shall not be required for a residential accessory structure (non-habitable) of less than two hundred (200) square feet in area (does not apply to additions or alterations of a structure), or for a private communication device, if not in a floodplain. A temporary structure of more than two hundred (200) square feet shall require a temporary permit.
A residential land use permit shall not be required for residential non-habitable (non-shoreland) structure of less than two hundred (200) square feet in area, or for a private communication device if not in a shoreland/floodplain.
Shoreland properties (per Act 55) all structures require a permit. In the Shoreland Area, structure shall mean a principal structure or any accessory structure including a garage, shed, boathouse, sidewalk, walkway, patio, deck, retaining wall, porch or firepit.
Temporary structure(s) of more than two hundred (200) square feet shall require a temporary permit.
Landings with steps shall not require a land use permit provided the landing area does not exceed 40 square feet, however, if landing is enclosed or covered a land use permit is required.
Yes. Even though the building is not on a permanent foundation it is an erected building and therefore requires a permit.
Yes, once your application is approved you will be provided a permit that you post in plain view on the property for which the permit applies. Site preparation does not require a permit, except in shoreland areas and mapped wetland areas you must have a permit in hand before you can do any site preparation.
All land use applications must be accompanied with the appropriate fees and proof of ownership. A land use application is also required to have a site plan and floor plan(s), and a copy of the property tax statement, unless you are a new property owner; then a copy of your recorded deed is required. Special Use, Conditional Use, Rezone, and Board of Adjustment applications must have a copy of property tax statement and a copy of your recorded deed.
No. A site inspection is required before a permit can be issued.
As a general rule of thumb it takes approximately 2 1/2 -3 weeks to receive your land use permit unless you are also applying for a Class-A, a mitigation plan, and/or sanitary permit. With a Class-A, a mitigation plan, and/or sanitary permit application it may take an additional 2-3 weeks before you receive your permit. Any Special Use-Class B, Rezone, Conditional Use, and Board of Adjustment applications must go before the Planning and Zoning Committee or the Board of Adjustment and will take 6-8 weeks before you receive your permit.
Short Answer: Maybe. Conversion or Change of Use to any property requires additional permitting.
All parcels of land in Bayfield County are based on Zoning Districts.
In order to Run a Business, Change or Convert the Use of a Property; the Use must be allowed by our Classification List.
See our Ordinance Link, Title 13, Chapter 1, Article D, Section 13-1-62 (Classification of Uses) to verify if the Permissible Use is allowed to be permitted within the Zoning District.
No, not without the proper permitting.
If you applied for an accessory structure or purchased a property with an existing structure; the structure may not be used for human habitation / sleeping purposes.
Any and all conditions placed at the time of permitting are required to be followed.
All structures must meet and maintain setbacks (including eaves and overhangs) as permitted. If you wish to relocate or move structure; it requires permitting prior to placement.
Note: No pressurized water or plumbing fixtures allowed inside a structure unless said structure is permitted by the Planning and Zoning Office to be connected to a code compliant POWTS/Sanitary System.
Yes. An Assistant Zoning Administrator will inspect the site to ensure that all setbacks are met and the site complies with the Zoning Ordinance.
Place stakes where your building, sanitary system, and well will be or are located, and also have all lots lines clearly marked. Stakes should be placed from the furthest extensions (include eaves and overhangs).
Boundary Line Determination(s):
Prior to the placement or construction of a structure within ten (10) feet of the minimum required setback, the boundary line from which the setback must be measured must be visible from one previously surveyed corner to the other previously surveyed corner or marked by a licensed surveyor at the owner’s expense.
Prior to the placement or construction of a structure more than ten (10) feet but less than thirty (30) feet from the minimum required setback, the boundary line from which the setback must be measured must be visible from one previously surveyed corner to the other previously surveyed corner, or verifiable by the Department by use of a corrected compass from a known corner within 500 feet of the proposed site of the structure, or must be marked by a licensed surveyor at the owner’s expense.
No, it is not necessary for you to be present.
You must first obtain a recorded deed. Permits may only be issued in the name of the property owner.
Note: A copy of the deed without the Register of Deeds recording in the upper right hand corner will not be accepted. A copy of the recorded deed is the only paperwork that will be accepted.
You can request an on-site inspection. You need to send a letter requesting an on-site inspection, it must have your name, phone number and a check for $250 to the Planning and Zoning Department requesting an on-site inspection. An inspector will call you to set a day and a time to meet on the property. If you do not own the property and would like an on-site inspection, you will need to attach a letter of authorization from the existing property owner stating they approve of the inspection.
Yes. However; the application must be filled out showing the property owners name and signed by the property owner. If anyone other than the property owner signs the application, the property owner must write and sign a Letter of Authorization, authorizing the contractor / agent to apply for the permit.
A copy of the Trust page(s) or LLC page(s) showing all owners and which of the owner(s) is/are authorized to sign on behalf of the Trust/Corporation will need to be included with the application.
Yes. There are no exemptions for farm buildings / structures.
Go to septicsearch.com and click on Request Update Button.
You are receiving a card because the Planning and Zoning Department has been given a mandate (June 2005) by the State of Wisconsin to accurately keep a record of maintenance on all private on-site wastewater treatment systems (i.e. sanitary systems) in Bayfield County. Prior to the 2005 mandate, the property owner(s) were responsible to keep the system properly maintained. The state law has been in effect since 1981.
Septic Systems are required to be properly pumped or inspected every 3 years. Inspections may be conducted by a master plumber, journeyman plumber or a person licensed under s. 281.28. Holding Tank Systems are required to be pumped whenever the wastewater of the tank reaches a level of one (1) foot below the inlet invert of the tank. A holding tank will be placed on a 90-day schedule. Aerobic Treatment Systems (ATU) are required to be properly maintained or pumped as prescribed by the state or governmental unit (when the combined sludge and scum volume equals 1/3 of tank volume)
Go to septicsearch.com and Click on the Button: Request Update.
Click here: Septic Search. Go to Tool Bar and Click on Property Search.
Click here: Septic Search Go to Tool Bar and Click on Property Search. Search by name, address, etc. When the page comes up click on View History. Look through the list to see if the service is listed. If not call your service provider.
No, you do not have to call our office to verify. You may go on line and verify. Follow these steps:
If you are a property owner of a holding tank you may qualify for low-flow pumping. You must comply with DSPS 383.32(f) and 383.54(3)(c) requirements. All blackwater, graywater, effluent, etc. must be discharging into the holding tank; and secondly the tank is being pumped when all wastewater reaches 1 foot below the inlet pipe. If compliance with Comm requirements is followed you may fill out an affidavit and mail it to the Planning and Zoning Department for consideration. View the affidavit online. Holding tank having no maintenance history on file during the standard scheduling will be placed on a three year maximum inspection cycle.
If you are a property owner of a septic tank you do not qualify for less frequent pumping. The State of Wisconsin mandates that septic tanks must be properly maintained (i.e. pumped or inspected) every three years. View the inspection form for the septic tanks.
The pink card is the only postcard the property owner(s) will receive from the Planning and Zoning Department requiring them to come into compliance with their private on-site wastewater treatment system (POWTS). Subsequent notification will be sent by corporation counsel to enforce legal action.
If the first installment is not paid by January 31, the entire unpaid balance becomes delinquent (voiding all installment options) and is subject to interest effective February 1 at a rate of 1% per month (12% per year) until it is paid in full.
Per State Statute 74.69(1): Property tax payments are considered timely if:
We urge taxpayers to mail payments several days early to avoid postal delay. You may consider going to the Post Office and having them postmark your envelope in front of you to assure timely payment.
No, state law sets interest and penalties on delinquent tax amounts. There are no allowances to make any adjustments in those laws.
Yes. We encourage taxpayers to make regular payments to assist in getting delinquent taxes paid in full. We will always mail back a receipt and updated statement showing your new balance due after each payment.
Have you advised of any changes in your mailing address before November 15th? Tax bills are mailed to property owners in mid December. If you have not received your bill by December 20th, please contact the treasurer of your local municipality. You are responsible to pay your property taxes in a timely manner, whether or not you have received your tax bill. Failure to receive a property tax bill does not relieve taxpayers of their obligation to pay their taxes by the due date, nor does it negate interest charges that may accrue.
You are ultimately responsible for the payment of your property taxes. You should verify that your taxes were paid through the escrow.
The lottery and gaming credit is direct property tax relief to qualifying taxpayers in the form of a credit on their property tax bill. You may claim a lottery and gaming credit if, on January 1, you are a Wisconsin resident, you are a recorded owner of the property, and the property is your primary residence. You can have only one primary residence. Rental or other properties do not qualify for lottery credit.
To apply for the Lottery and Gaming Credit, fill out the Lottery Credit Form and mail to the Bayfield County Treasurer.
Contact the 4-H Youth Development Office. Ian at 715-373-3289 or Email or Kaylie at 715-373-3287 or Email. They will provide you with information on how to register online and put you in touch with a club in your area.
or you can go to our UW-Extension Bayfield County website.
You can contact the UW-Madison Extension Bayfield County Office and speak with our Office Manager, Theresa at 715-373-3285 or send an Email.
A license is required to sell most kinds of foods. (For execptions to this, see the question on the Pickle Bill on the FAQ page.) Depending on the type of food sold and where it's sold, licences may be issued by the county health department or the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture Trade and Consumer Protection (WDATCP). The publication, Starting a Food Business (link below) from UW-Extension, provides information on licensing and training. You can also contact the WDATCP directly at 608-224-4682 or the Bayfield County Health Department at 715-373-6109.
The U.S. Armed Forces maintain an Official Military Personnel File, or OMPF, for every veteran and service member. If you are a veteran or a member of the Army, Navy, Marines, or Air Force and are serving as active duty, reserve, or guard, or if you are retired, you can use the Defense Personnel Records Information Retrieval System page on the milConnect website to request and receive scanned copies of documents in your OMPF.
In some cases, OMPF records are not yet scanned into the DPRIS system on milConnect. To determine whether your documents are available online, what to do if they are not, and for many more details about your OMPF documents, visit the DPRIS section of the milConnect frequently asked questions page.
For OMPF records not available in milConnect, military veteran health records, or for records requests from a veteran's next of kin or a member of the public, please visit the National Archives - National Personnel Record Center, Military Personnel Records for assistance:
Link: Archives.gov - Military Personnel RecordsLink: Archives.gov - Other Medical Records
If you do not have a copy of your DD Form 214 or other military records and we are unable to obtain them for you, you can request a copy from the National Personnel Records Center (NPRC) by mail or fax using Standard Form 180, or completing an online form and submitting the signature page you receive when you have completed the form.
Mailing Address - National Personnel Records Center1 Archives DriveSt. Louis, Missouri 63138
Fax Number - (314) 801-9195
You can request a copy of your Wisconsin National Guard Records by mail or fax using Standard Form 180.
Mailing Address - Wisconsin National Guard ATTN WIAR-G1-RHA PO Box 8111 Madison WI 53708-8111
Fax Number - (608) 242-3400
For more information visit the Wisconsin Department of Military affairs
Veterans who believe the characterization of their discharge from military service was unjust, erroneous, or warrants an upgrade are encouraged to apply for a discharge upgrade or correction.
All branches of the military consider you to have a strong case for a discharge upgrade if you can show your discharge was connected to any of these categories:
The Department of Defense and Department of Veterans Affairs jointly operate an online tool to facilitate your application process. By answering a series of questions, you will receive customized instructions on how to apply, and to which board to apply, for a discharge upgrade or correction.
Link: Discharge upgrade instructions
If you do not agree with a Service Board for Correction of Military/Naval Records (BCM/NR) decision, and have relevant evidence that was not considered with the previous application, you may submit a new DD Form 149 to your respective BCM/NR and apply for reconsideration of your case.
Service members with a separation date on or after December 20, 2019, who have exhausted all available administrative remedies for a discharge or dismissal characterization upgrade by their Service BCM/NR, may be eligible to apply to the DoD Discharge Appeal Review Board. To learn more about the DARB and how to apply for review, visit the DARB page located on the Air Force Review Board Agency website.
To request a set of medals awarded during your service you will need to submit a Standard Form 180 requesting the re-issue of your medals. The NPRC will find your military records and forward to the branch of service that you served in. This process may take several months to a year to complete. The program only allows a one-time reissue of the medal.
If the request is by a family member the family member must meet specific requirements of the active duty component in which the veteran served. The next of kin may apply for the medals.
Mailing address - National Personnel Records Center 1 Archives Drive St. Louis, MO 63138
Fax number - (314) 801-9195
For more information visit the National Personnel Records Center